Area School Districts Among Recipients of Secretary of State’s Library Grants | Education

SPRINGFIELD — More than a dozen area school districts are among the recipients of state library grants awarded by Secretary of State Jesse White, who also serves as the state librarian.

Grants, of at least $850, can be used for the purchase of fiction/non-fiction books, educational CDs and DVDs, library subscriptions, electronic resources, new computers and Wi-Fi connectivity improvements.

The school districts receiving grants and the amounts are as follows:

  • Altamount, $850
  • Arcola, $850
  • Arthur, $879.34
  • Casey Westfield, $850
  • Charleston, $1,936.73
  • Effingham, $1,865.05
  • Kansas, $850
  • Marshal, $1,061.32
  • Matoon, $2,508.31
  • Neoga, $850
  • Oakland, $850
  • Shelbyville, $910.05
  • Sullivan, $951.55
  • Cumberland, $850
  • Tucola, $850
  • Windsor, $850

More than $1.4 million has been awarded to 672 public school districts on a per student basis.

“As a former public school teacher and administrator, I know that our school libraries are essential in helping students learn and prepare for the future,” White said. “Illinois was the first state to implement a school district grant program, and I’m thrilled that we can continue to provide school libraries with some of the financial resources they need to produce well-educated students.”

Comments are closed.