KLTV’s Mark Scirto Joins Smith County Fire Marshal and Tyler Fire Chief as 2022 WT ‘Doc’ Ballard Award Recipients

TYLER, Texas (KLTV) – KLTV Chief Meteorologist Mark Scirto, Smith County Fire Marshal Jay Brooks and Tyler Fire Chief David Coble received the 2022 WT “Doc” Ballard Award from NET Health on Thursday evening. for excellence in public health.

NET Health recognized Brooks, Scirto and Coble for their contributions to public health and safety in East Texas.

Mark Scirto has protected East Texans and prepared them for all kinds of weather for decades. From 1987 to 1991, he was the original Daybreak meteorologist for the station, then returned as chief meteorologist in 1994. During this time, he kept East Texans informed of public health emergencies related to weather conditions, such as tornado outbreaks, droughts and floods. He has also taken a proactive stance in educating area schoolchildren through KLTV’s Project Tornado program.

“I want to thank you all for even considering me for this award,” Scirto told those gathered at the ceremony, which included his wife of 40 years, Beth, as well as several of his children and grandchildren.

Fire Marshal Jay Brooks and Tyler Fire Chief David Coble were recognized for their efforts with the Emergency Operations Center during the COVID-19 pandemic.

“I share this award with everyone involved and the citizens of Smith County because this is what it took, the citizens coming together to really think together and figure out how we were going to do this on our own,” says Brooks.

Several recipients have received the NET Health WT “Doc” Ballard Award for over 10 years. NET Health Board members vote to select the nominee to receive this annual award.

Copyright 2022 KLTV. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.