Organ Recital Marks Women’s History Month

Elsewhere in entertainment, events and the arts:


Organist Rees Roberts, former music director, organist and choirmaster at St. Luke’s Episcopal Church in North Little Rock, marks International Women’s History Month with a recital featuring works by five female composers at 7 p.m. Tuesday at Church, 4106 John F. Kennedy Blvd. , North Little Rock, as part of the church’s Festival of the Senses series.

On the program: “Prelude” in F major by Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel, paired with the “Prelude & Fugue” in C minor by her brother, Felix Mendelssohn; the first (“Rorate Caeli”) and the third (“Attende Domine”) of “12 chorale preludes on themes of Gregorian chant”, op.8, by Jeanne Marie-Madeleine Demessieux; “Prelude & Fugue” in G major, BWV 550, by JS Bach; “Organ Suite No. 1” by Florence Price; “Estampie Retrove” from the “Robertsbridge Codex” (anonymous, around 1360); “Petit Canon”, the second of “Three Pieces” by Nadia Boulanger; “Prelude & Fugue on ‘Traurigkeit, O Herzeleid'” by Ethel Smyth; and the “Passacaglia” from “Sonata No. 8” in E minor by Josef Rheinberger.

Free entry. The co-sponsor is the Central Arkansas Chapter of the American Guild of Organists. Call (501) 753-3578 or email [email protected]

The concert will also be streamed live on, where it will be available thereafter. Attendees are asked to wear masks throughout the performance and adhere to social distancing protocols.


The MacArthur Museum of Military History in Arkansas, 503 E. Ninth St., Little Rock, is screening “Rebel: Loreta Velazquez, Secret Soldier of the American Civil War,” as part of its “Movies At MacArthur” series. at 6:30 p.m. today. Velazquez posed as a Confederate soldier during the Civil War, enlisting in 1861 after the accidental death of her soldier husband, re-enlisting after his discharge following his discovery, and eventually becoming a Confederate spy and double agent under the services American secrets. Free entry. Dial (501) 376-4602.


The Arkansas Arts Council will honor seven members of Arkansas’ arts community at the Governor’s Arts Awards ceremony, with limited seating and therefore live streaming from the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion, Wednesday at 12 p.m. 30 on the Arts Council’s Facebook page ( and on its YouTube channel ( “Free entry.

The recipients :

  • Arts Community Development Award: Ed Clifford of Springdale
  • Arts in Education Award: Timothy Crist of Jonesboro
  • Arts Corporate Sponsorship: Cranford Co. of Little Rock
  • Individual Artist Award: Perrion Y. Hurd of Little Rock
  • Judges Recognition Award: The Scottish Heritage Program at Lyon College Batesville
  • Honorary Award: Sharon Heflin of Little Rock
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Linda Williams Palmer of Hot Springs

The awards program has recognized individuals, businesses and nonprofits for their contributions to the arts since 1991. Winners are nominated by the public and then selected by an independent panel of arts professionals. Call (501) 324-9767, email [email protected] or visit


Rogers Historical Museum, 313 S. Second St., Rogers celebrates Arkansas Archeology Month (March) with “Digging Into Spring Break” for ages 6-12:

◼️ Excavation station, from 10 a.m. to noon on March 22. Participants can learn the documentation techniques that archaeologists use at excavation sites.

◼️ Connecting-the-Pots, 10am-12pm on March 24. Clay pottery found in indigenous prehistoric sites is often broken into pieces; participants can learn the techniques used by archaeologists to glue them together using a terracotta pot and decorate their own little pot.

Both sessions are free; attendees must register for 30-minute timed reservations. Register at For more information, call (479) 621-1154.


Thea Foundation is distributing $219,000 in scholarships to 36 Arkansas high school students in five categories, winners of its 2021-22 scholarship competition:

performing arts

Jordan Greenwood, Little Rock, Christian Academy of Little Rock, $10,000; Isabella Hammonds, Little Rock, homeschooling, $9,000; John Straessle, Little Rock, Catholic High School, $8,000; Jackson McAfee, Hot Springs, Lakeside High School, $7,000; Christian Elder, Rogers, Rogers High School, $6,000; Turner Tecmire, Fort Smith, Northside High School, $3,000; Kathleen Armstrong, Cabot, Cabot High School, $3,000; Margaux Marak, Sherwood, Christian from central Arkansas, $3,000; Hope Drake, Hot Springs, Lakeside High School, $3,000; Allen Coleman, Colt, Forrest City High School, $3,000

visual arts

Michael Lawrence, North Little Rock, North Little Rock High, $10,000; Anumi Wickramasinghe, Bentonville, Bentonville West High, $9,000; Abigail McDonald, North Little Rock, North Little Rock High, $8,000; Alivia Griffin, North Little Rock, North Little Rock High, $7,000; Heather Stanfield, Bentonville, Life Way Christian, $6,000; Reagan Ptacek, Bentonville, Bentonville West High, $3,000; Madelyn Hall, Sherwood, Sylvan Hills High School, $3,000; Ashley Fan, Little Rock, Central High, $3,000; Emely Solis, Centerton, Bentonville West High, $3,000; Anny Victoriano, Jonesboro, Jonesboro High Academies, $3,000

creative writing

Marlissa Archie, Hot Springs, Hot Springs High, $10,000; Kathryn Odum, Little Rock, Pulaski Academy, $9,000; Avery Girouard, Little Rock, Pulaski Academy, $8,000; Brianna Staples, Kensett, Riverview High School, $7,000; Jedidiah Lightner, Fort Smith, Southside High, $6,000; Lydia Dunlap, Greenbrier, Greenbrier High, $3,000; McKenzie Allred, Hot Springs, Arkansas School for Math, Science and Arts, $3,000; Gracie Limmer, Little Rock, Mount St. Mary Academy, $3,000; Emily Clark, Centerton, Bentonville West High, $3,000; Aerial Haney, Hot Springs, Lakeside High School, $3,000


Shreya Ramani, Rogers, Founders Classical Academy, $10,000; Maggie Davis, Little Rock, Central High, $9,000; Anna Bolding, North Little Rock, North Little Rock High, $8,000


Alyse Briggs, North Little Rock, eStem High School, $10,000; Colleen Hill, Centerton, Bentonville High School, $9,000; Zoe Seibert, Little Rock, Central High, $8,000.

The list of winners and samples of their work can be found on the Thea Foundation blog:

Comments are closed.