The American Association of Kidney Patients sets high standards of care

WASHINGTON, November 9, 2022 /PRNewswire/ — The American Association of Kidney Patients (AAKP), the oldest and largest independent kidney patient organization in the United States, has called for nominations for its 2023 Medal of Achievement. of submission is November 30, 2022. The AAKP Medals of Excellence Program elevates kidney health professionals in seven categories: Transplant Surgeon, Transplant Professional, Physician, Nurse, Social Worker, Dietitian, and Dialysis Technician.

American Kidney Association Medal of Excellence logo

Medal of Excellence recipients are selected by a panel of patient advocates based on their demonstrated ability to provide quality patient-centered care, as defined by the patient community. This includes strong patient advocacy, a commitment to innovation in care, and the advancement of disease education and treatments that fully align with patient aspirations, including pursuing full-time work or part-time in the career path of their choice.

The AAKP is driving greater national and global patient care choice and access to new therapies to delay disease progression, halt kidney failure, and transform kidney care outdated and with high mortality. The organization has brought the voice of kidney patients to every major national decision related to kidney transplantation, preventive transplants, the wider use of home dialysis, and the rapid development of safe and portable implantable and portable organs. artificial.

Nominees for the award may be nominated by colleagues, patients at their home institution, or through professional affiliations. Candidates can also be self-nominated. Visit to access the online nomination form.

“The AAKP Medal of Excellence Award recognizes the extraordinary talents and commitment of professionals who put patients first while setting consistently high standards of care for the renal community,” said the president of the AAKP. ‘AAKP. Richard Knight, a former dialysis and transplant patient for 16 years. “Our past recipients have each made significant contributions to the history of renal medicine and to the patient community.”

“The AAKP is honored to recognize frontline healthcare professionals who continue to provide excellent care to vulnerable immunocompromised and immunocompromised patients during the current threat of COVID-19. We salute all professionals working to transcend care from status quo through earlier screening and intervention to home dialysis and preventative transplant,” said Edward V. HickeyUSMC, AAKP Vice President and Chair of the AAKP Veterans Health Initiative.

Paul T. Conway, President of Policy and Global Affairs of the AAKP and 42-year-old kidney patient, said, “The Medal of Excellence program is an extension of our national strategy to redefine high-quality kidney care according to the standards and consumer needs of kidney patients. selected for this award directly reflect the level of professional education, training, and commitment to substantial patient engagement that the AAKP expects from leaders in the field of renal medicine.” Conway also serves on the specialty board in nephrology from the American Board of Internal Medicine.

The 2023 winners will join a roster of esteemed professionals who are strong patient advocates with a demonstrated commitment to research, innovation and the transformation of status quo kidney care. Past winners include Eli FriedmanMD, the late Christopher Blagg, MD and many other pioneers in kidney care. Other nationally recognized kidney professionals include Stephane FademMD, FACP, FASN; Janice LeaMD, MSc, FASN; Matthew CooperMD; Rebecca SchmidtDO, FACP, FASN; Alain KligerMD; Michael Alan ReesMD, PhD; Katherine R. TuttleMD, FASN, FACP; John S.GillMD, MS; Barry SmithMD, PhD; Lillian Prior, MSN, RN, CNN; and Tamara Kear, PhD, RN, CNN, FAAN. Click here for a list of 2022 winners in all categories.

The nomination criteria focus on the ways in which an individual has made an impact through advancing patient-centered care and consumer care choice, being a strong patient advocate, and raising awareness through education about health, early kidney detection and disease intervention. A selection committee will meet to select the 2023 winners, with an announcement in early 2023. Winners will be recognized throughout 2023. Visit of-excellence/ to access the online nomination form.

About the American Association of Kidney Patients (AAKP): The AAKP was founded in 1969 by six dialysis patients determined to extend lifesaving kidney treatments to all Americans at risk for kidney failure. By 1973, AAKP patient collaborations with the U.S. Congress and the White House had resulted in guaranteed dialysis coverage and the only taxpayer-funded disease-specific eligibility program in America, End Stage Renal. Disease Program (ESRD), administered by CMS. The program has saved more than two million lives. Over the past decade, AAKP patients have helped secure lifetime transplant drug coverage for kidney transplant recipients (2020); new patient-centric policies via the White House Executive Order on Advancing American Kidney Health (2019); new job protections for living organ donors under the US Department of Labor’s Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) (2018); and Congressional legislation authorizing HIV-positive organ transplants for HIV-positive patients (2013). AAKP’s virtual platforms and social networks are internationally recognized for their impact. Follow AAKP on social media at @kidneypatient on Facebook and @kidneypatients on Twitter, and visit its website at

Jennifer Rate
Marketing & Communications Manager
(813) 400-2394
[email protected]

(PRNewsfoto/American Kidney Association)

(PRNewsfoto/American Kidney Association)



View original content to download multimedia:

SOURCE American Kidney Patients Association

Comments are closed.